What you need to know
- The Democratic-controlled state Senate is pushing party policy to pass a bill that says anyone wanting to buy a handgun in Delaware must first be fingerprinted, trained, and licensed from the state. voted along
- Tuesday’s vote came after more than two hours of debate in which gun control advocates argued the proposal would help reduce the number of murders and suicides in Delaware. It violated the right of citizens to comply with the law and had no effect on those responsible for the state’s gun violence problem.
- The bill, which will now go to the Democratic-led House, is similar to other proposals submitted by Democrats in recent years, including one that passed the Senate in 2021 but stalled in the House.
The Democratic-controlled state Senate on Tuesday passed a bill that would require anyone wanting to buy a handgun in Delaware to first be fingerprinted, trained and obtain a permit from the state.
The vote came after more than two hours of debate in which gun control advocates argued the proposal would help reduce the number of murders and suicides in Delaware. He argued that it violated the rights of citizens and had no effect on those responsible for the state’s gun violence problem.
But principal sponsor Senator Elizabeth Lockman suggested that even criminals would comply with the permit requirements if the bill passed.
“First and foremost, I know that every handgun owner in our state has taken a firearms training course,” said Lockman, a Wilmington Democrat, who said such training was incidental. It will reduce the number of violent shootings, suicides and gun thefts, he added.
Critics argued that the permit process would result in a time-consuming and costly infringement on those wishing to exercise their right to defend themselves with firearms. It is specific and also guarantees an individual’s right to keep and carry weapons for hunting and recreational use.
“When will we stop persecuting law enforcement and start prosecuting criminals?” asks Meridell Republican Senator David Lawson, a retired state trooper and former gun store owner. rice field.
The bill, which will now go to the Democratic-led House, is similar to other proposals submitted by Democrats in recent years, including one that passed the Senate in 2021 but stalled in the House.
The bill prohibits licensed gun dealers and private sellers from transferring handguns to others unless they have a “qualified purchaser’s license.” To obtain a permit, you must complete a firearms training course and be fingerprinted by the National Identification Agency.
SBI will investigate the person within 30 days and grant permission if the applicant is eligible. Agents are permitted to retain information submitted by applicants indefinitely.
If granted, the permit would be valid for a year under the replacement bill introduced Tuesday. In previous versions, permits were only valid for 180 days. If the Director of the SBI later makes a determination “supported by probable cause” that the person poses a danger to himself or others by possessing a firearm, the permit will be revoked and the purchased firearm will be It may be confiscated.
The alternative bill allows up to 18 months for state authorities to implement the permit program, compared to a maximum of 6 months in previous versions. The bill includes exemptions for active and retired law enforcement officers and those who already have concealed carry permits. We also offer vouchers covering the full cost of firearms training courses for individuals whose household income is 200% or less of his Federal Poverty Guidelines.
Proponents of the permit proposal say it would help reduce gun deaths and make it more difficult for people to make illegal “straw purchases” of handguns on behalf of those prohibited by law from owning a handgun. claims that
Fewer than a dozen other states have similar handgun licensing requirements. But Daniel Webster, a professor of gun violence at Johns Hopkins University, testified that permit laws have been correlated with fewer gun homicides and suicides.
Critics, however, have noted a steady increase in Maryland murders in the decade since the state enacted a handgun permit requirement. According to the Maryland Uniform Crime Report, he had 387 murders in 2013 when the permit law went into effect. That number dropped to 363 he the following year and jumped to 553 in 2015. Maryland’s annual homicide count remained above 500, except in 2018, when the tally was 489. 573 murders were reported in 2020 and 709 in 2021.
https://www.nbcphiladelphia.com/news/politics/delaware-gun-rules/3558523/ Handgun Allowance Fingerprint Rule Clears Delaware Senate in Partisan Vote – NBC10 Philadelphia